Portable solar generators range from compact kits for phones and lights to high-capacity systems for home backup. I rank the Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 as the best overall balance of capacity and portability, while the Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 suits buyers who need more output and longer runtimes. For a large backup setup, the Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus is the standout capacity-focused option. The main tradeoffs are battery size versus carrying weight, solar panel area versus charging convenience, and power output versus cost and complexity. Read on for the full breakdown and help matching a system to your actual loads.
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The 1000 v2 is the strongest all-around fit: it sits between small camping kits and much heavier backup-focused systems, making it a practical starting point for mixed use.
- Capacity changes the job a generator can do: the Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 and HomePower 3600 Plus are better matched to longer outages and larger loads than the sub-300Wh options.
- Built-in solar trades convenience for flexibility: the BROWEY and BLAVOR models reduce the need to carry a separate panel, but their integrated panels are not a substitute for a larger external array when faster recharging matters.
- Small kits prioritize easy transport, not broad backup: the Apowking 100W, Jackery Explorer 300, and EnginStar 296Wh make more sense for modest electronics than for sustained appliance use.
- Brand and kit size do not settle the choice: compare usable battery capacity, AC output, panel wattage, and your likely daily energy use; bundled panels vary widely across this lineup.
| ZeroKor 300W Portable Power Station with 60W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best for Simple Solar Starter Kits | Maximum output: 300W | Solar panel: 60W monocrystalline; 20.5% conversion efficiency | AC outlets: 2; 300W maximum | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 with 200W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best Overall for Portable Appliance Power | Battery capacity: 1,070Wh | Battery type: LFP | AC output: 1,500W; 3,000W surge peak | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apowking 100W Portable Power Station with 40W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best Compact Solar Generator | Capacity: 146Wh / 39,600mAh | Running and peak output: 100W running; 200W peak | Solar panel: 40W monocrystalline; 20.5% cell efficiency | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 with 2 x 200W Solar Panels – 2042 Wh, 2200 W AC Output | ![]() | Best for Extended Backup | Battery capacity: 2,042Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4 | AC output: 2,200W continuous | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| EnginStar 300W Portable Power Station with 60W Foldable Solar Panel | ![]() | Best Value for a Specified Small-Device Battery | Battery capacity: 296Wh / 80,000mAh | AC output: 300W | AC outlets: 2 pure sine wave 110V outlets | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| BROWEY 1600W Portable Power Station with Built-In Solar Panel | ![]() | Best for Built-In Solar Convenience | Battery capacity: 1024Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4; rated for 3000+ cycles to 80% capacity | Output: 1600W continuous, 3200W peak | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station with 40W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best Compact Solar Kit | Battery capacity: 292Wh | Peak surge: 600W | Battery chemistry: LiFePO4; over 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| BLAVOR 1600W Solar Generator with 1024Wh Battery and Built-In 40W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best for Expandable Solar Charging | Battery capacity: 1024Wh | Battery type: LiFePO4; rated for more than 4,000 charge cycles | Peak output: 3200W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Apowking 300W Portable Power Station with 40W Solar Panel | ![]() | Best Lightweight Solar Backup | Battery capacity: 220Wh (60,000mAh) | Peak output: 600W | Solar panel: 40W monocrystalline | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station with Two 200W Solar Panels | ![]() | Best for Extended Backup and High Loads | Battery capacity: 3584Wh | Battery type: LFP; rated for 6,000 cycles | AC output: 3600W | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| EnginStar 296Wh Portable Power Station with Pure Sine Wave AC Outlets | ![]() | Best Lightweight Option for Basic Off-Grid Power | Battery capacity: 296Wh | Battery type: Lithium-ion | AC output: 2 × 110V pure sine wave outlets | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| BROWEY 1600W Portable Power Station with Built-In Solar Panel | ![]() | Best for Long-Term Capacity with Integrated Solar | Model: S1600 | Battery capacity and type: 1,024Wh LiFePO4 | AC output: 1,600W, 3,200W peak; 120V pure sine wave | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| portable solar generator | Battery capacity | Weight | AC outlets | Battery type |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ZeroKor 300W Portable Power St | — | — | 2; 300W maximum | — |
| Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v | 1,070Wh | 23.8 lb | 3 pure sine wave outlets | LFP |
| Apowking 100W Portable Power S | — | 3.3 lb | 2 × 110V | — |
| Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 with | 2,042Wh | 66.8 lb | 3 | LiFePO4 |
| EnginStar 300W Portable Power | 296Wh / 80,000mAh | 6.5 lb | 2 pure sine wave 110V outlets | — |
| BROWEY 1600W Portable Power St | 1024Wh | 12 kg | — | LiFePO4; rated for 3000+ cycles to 80% capacity |
| Jackery Explorer 300 Portable | 292Wh | 12.9 lb | — | — |
| BLAVOR 1600W Solar Generator w | 1024Wh | 26 lb | — | LiFePO4; rated for more than 4,000 charge cycles |
| Apowking 300W Portable Power S | 220Wh (60,000mAh) | 5 lb | 2 × 110V pure sine wave | — |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Po | 3584Wh | 77.2 lb | — | LFP; rated for 6,000 cycles |
| EnginStar 296Wh Portable Power | 296Wh | — | — | Lithium-ion |
| BROWEY 1600W Portable Power St | — | — | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
ZeroKor 300W Portable Power Station with 60W Solar Panel
The ZeroKor makes a straightforward entry point for buyers who want a small power station and panel in one kit. Its 300W ceiling is suited to phones, lights, and other modest loads, while two AC outlets plus USB and DC ports let you charge several kinds of devices. Compared with the Apowking 100W, it offers more AC output headroom; unlike the much larger Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2, it is aimed at basic campsite or short-outage needs rather than running appliances for longer periods.
The included 60W monocrystalline panel and AC, car, and solar charging options add flexibility, but the listing does not state the station’s battery capacity, making runtime harder to estimate. The panel junction box is not waterproof, and loads above 300W exceed its stated limit. I’d choose it for simple device charging, not as a dependable appliance backup.
Pros:- Includes a 60W monocrystalline solar panel and supports AC, car, and compatible solar charging.
- Two AC outlets plus USB and DC connections accommodate several small devices.
- Built-in protections cover short circuits, over-current, over-voltage, overload, and overheating.
- Flashlight includes reading and SOS modes for outdoor or outage use.
Cons:- The 300W output limit rules out many household appliances and higher-draw equipment.
- Battery capacity is not specified, so buyers cannot readily estimate runtime.
- The solar panel junction box is not waterproof.
Best for: Campers and occasional emergency-kit users who want a compact, included panel for phones, lights, and other low-wattage devices.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need predictable runtime, higher-wattage appliance support, or a solar panel setup suitable for wet conditions.
- Maximum output:300W
- Solar panel:60W monocrystalline; 20.5% conversion efficiency
- AC outlets:2; 300W maximum
- USB ports:3 USB ports (5V/3A maximum) and 1 quick-charge USB port
- DC port:9V–12.6V, 10A maximum
- Recharge methods:AC outlet, 12V car outlet, or compatible 13V–23V solar panel
- Protection:Short-circuit, over-current, over-voltage, overload, and overheating protection
- Included accessories:AC adapter, cigarette lighter adapter, 12V car charging cable, and 60W solar panel kit
Our verdict“Choose the ZeroKor for basic off-grid device charging with a panel included, but skip it if you need a clear runtime estimate or appliance-level output.”
Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 with 200W Solar Panel
The Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 earns my best overall spot by balancing useful appliance output with a size and weight that remain portable for many trips. Its 1,070Wh LFP battery and 1,500W AC output give it far more scope than the 300W ZeroKor or EnginStar for powering a wider range of gear, while the included 200W panel supports solar recharging away from an outlet. Three pure sine wave AC outlets and two 100W USB-C ports also suit mixed device loads.
The tradeoff is bulk: at 23.8 lb, it is not as easy to carry as the 3.3 lb Apowking, and the panel and generator ship separately. The advertised one-hour AC recharge depends on enabling emergency charging in the app; the default full-charge time is 1.7 hours. I’d pick it for buyers who need a versatile mid-size station, not those prioritizing minimum carry weight.
Pros:- 1,070Wh LFP battery and 1,500W AC output support more demanding uses than the 300W models here.
- Includes a 200W solar panel for off-grid recharging.
- Two USB-C ports provide up to 100W each for compatible devices.
- App-controlled charging modes and a stated 5-year warranty add useful management and coverage.
Cons:- At 23.8 lb, it is heavier than compact options such as the 3.3 lb Apowking.
- The generator and solar panel ship separately.
- One-hour AC charging requires emergency charging to be enabled in the app; default full-charge time is 1.7 hours.
Best for: Campers, van travelers, and outage-prepared households who need substantial battery capacity and 1,500W AC output without moving to a roughly 67 lb unit.
Not ideal for: Ultralight campers or buyers who need the power station and solar panel to arrive together in one shipment.
- Battery capacity:1,070Wh
- Battery type:LFP
- AC output:1,500W; 3,000W surge peak
- Solar panel:200W
- AC outlets:3 pure sine wave outlets
- USB-C ports:2, up to 100W each
- Weight:23.8 lb
- Full charge time:1 hour with emergency charging enabled; 1.7 hours by default
- Warranty coverage:5 years
Our verdict“Choose the Jackery 1000 v2 if you want a portable, solar-ready station for mixed devices and appliance loads, and can accept its weight and separate shipments.”
Apowking 100W Portable Power Station with 40W Solar Panel
At 3.3 lb, the Apowking is the easiest option in this group to carry on foot, making it a better fit for a day hike or a light camping kit than the 6.5 lb EnginStar or 23.8 lb Jackery 1000 v2. The included 40W monocrystalline panel, seven outputs, and dual LED lights make it a self-contained companion for phones, cameras, and small electronics. Its two AC outlets add some flexibility, but the station’s 100W running limit matters more than the number of sockets: it cannot handle many appliances, and the 146Wh battery is better for short trips than extended backup.
The 200W peak rating is not a substitute for continuous output, so I would not choose it over the ZeroKor or EnginStar for loads near 300W. This is the lineup’s portability pick, not its capacity pick.
Pros:- Weighs 3.3 lb, making it substantially easier to carry than the larger stations in this lineup.
- Includes a 40W monocrystalline solar panel.
- Seven outputs include AC, USB, USB-C, and DC connections.
- Dual LED lights offer flashlight, strobe, and SOS modes.
Cons:- 100W running output excludes many appliances and higher-draw devices.
- 146Wh capacity limits how long it can support multiple devices or repeated charging.
- The 40W panel has a lower rated output than the 60W panels included with the ZeroKor and EnginStar.
Best for: Day hikers, minimalist campers, and photographers who want a very light station for phones, cameras, lights, and other low-draw electronics.
Not ideal for: Buyers running appliances, needing multi-day backup, or seeking more than 100W of continuous AC output.
- Capacity:146Wh / 39,600mAh
- Running and peak output:100W running; 200W peak
- Solar panel:40W monocrystalline; 20.5% cell efficiency
- AC outlets:2 × 110V
- Total outputs:7
- USB-C output:5V/3A, 9V/2A
- Weight:3.3 lb
- Dimensions:7.5 × 3.7 × 6.1 in
- Warranty:12-month customer support
Our verdict“Choose the Apowking when low carry weight matters more than long runtime or appliance power.”
Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 with 2 x 200W Solar Panels – 2042 Wh, 2200 W AC Output
For buyers who need a larger reserve, the Explorer 2000 v2 offers 2,042Wh of LiFePO4 capacity and 2,200W continuous AC output—well beyond the Jackery 1000 v2 and the 300W stations in this roundup. That extra capacity makes it a stronger candidate for longer off-grid stays or home outage backup, and its 20ms UPS switching is designed to keep connected equipment powered through an interruption. The included kit lists two compatible 200W panels, giving it more solar input potential than the smaller-panel bundles.
Its 66.8 lb weight changes the portability equation: this is portable in the sense of a movable power station, not a grab-and-go camping unit. AC charging is fast, while solar charging is listed at about six hours. I’d choose it over the Jackery 1000 v2 for reserve capacity and output, but not for frequent solo carrying.
Pros:- 2,042Wh LiFePO4 battery offers much more stored energy than the Jackery 1000 v2.
- 2,200W continuous AC output and three outlets support higher-demand loads.
- 20ms UPS switching supports power continuity for connected equipment.
- Fast AC charging is listed at about 80% in 66 minutes or a full charge in about 102 minutes using emergency mode.
Cons:- At 66.8 lb, it is difficult to carry regularly without help or vehicle access.
- Solar recharge takes about six hours according to the product data.
- The station’s size and capacity are excessive for buyers who only need phone and camera charging.
Best for: Households preparing for extended outages and campers with vehicle access who need high capacity, strong AC output, and UPS continuity.
Not ideal for: Backpackers, frequent solo carriers, or buyers who need a genuinely lightweight station for moving around camp.
- Battery capacity:2,042Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4
- AC output:2,200W continuous
- AC outlets:3
- Solar panel compatibility:2 × 200W panels
- USB-C PD port:100W
- UPS switching time:20ms
- Weight:66.8 lb
- Dimensions:13.2 × 10.4 × 11.5 in
Our verdict“Choose the Explorer 2000 v2 for high-capacity backup and extended off-grid use, provided you can manage its 66.8 lb weight.”
EnginStar 300W Portable Power Station with 60W Foldable Solar Panel
The EnginStar is a practical middle ground for buyers who want a 300W-class station with stated battery capacity and a foldable panel in the bundle. Its 296Wh lithium-ion battery gives shoppers a clearer basis for planning runtime than the ZeroKor, whose capacity is not specified. The 60W monocrystalline panel, wall and car charging options, and eight output ports make it a flexible kit for phones, laptops, cameras, and modest loads. At 6.5 lb, it is heavier than the Apowking but offers more capacity and a higher running-output ceiling.
That 300W ceiling still rules out many household appliances, so it cannot replace the much more powerful Jackery 1000 v2 or Explorer 2000 v2. The product information also conflicts on whether the panel is included, despite the title and description presenting it as part of the kit. I’d verify bundle contents before buying.
Pros:- 296Wh battery capacity gives a clearer runtime-planning baseline than the ZeroKor listing.
- 60W monocrystalline solar panel is described as foldable and has a stated 23% conversion efficiency.
- Can recharge by solar, wall outlet, or 12V car socket.
- Eight output ports and pure sine wave AC outlets support a mix of small devices.
Cons:- 300W AC output limits use with higher-powered appliances.
- Product information conflicts on whether the solar panel is included.
- At 6.5 lb, it is heavier than the 3.3 lb Apowking compact option.
Best for: Car campers and emergency-kit builders who want a clearly stated 296Wh battery, multiple charging methods, and a claimed included panel.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need to power appliances above 300W or who require unambiguous confirmation of solar panel inclusion.
- Battery capacity:296Wh / 80,000mAh
- AC output:300W
- AC outlets:2 pure sine wave 110V outlets
- Solar panel:60W monocrystalline; 23% conversion efficiency
- USB-C output:18W
- DC outputs:2 regulated 12V/24V outputs
- Charging methods:Solar panel, wall outlet, or 12V car socket
- Approximate recharge time:3 hours
- Weight:6.5 lb
Our verdict“Choose the EnginStar for a specified 296Wh capacity and versatile charging, but confirm the panel is included and keep loads under 300W.”
BROWEY 1600W Portable Power Station with Built-In Solar Panel
The BROWEY pairs a 1024Wh LiFePO4 battery with a 1600W pure sine wave output, giving it more room for appliances and longer trips than the Jackery Explorer 300. Its built-in 40W panel is handy for topping up without packing a separate panel, but it is a modest charging source for a battery this size; sustained solar recharging is better served by a compatible external panel. The listed 100W USB-C PD output and AC, car, and solar charging options add flexibility for mixed device loads. At 12 kg, it is easier to manage than the much larger Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus, though still a substantial carry. I would also factor in the product description’s conflicting port and outlet counts before relying on a specific connection layout.
Pros:- 1024Wh LiFePO4 battery is suited to longer use than the Jackery Explorer 300’s 292Wh capacity.
- 1600W pure sine wave output supports a wider range of compatible devices than small 300W-class stations.
- Built-in 40W solar panel provides a way to collect solar power without carrying a separate panel.
- 100W USB-C PD and AC, USB-C, car, and solar charging add charging flexibility.
Cons:- The 40W built-in panel is a slow source for replenishing a 1024Wh battery.
- The description gives conflicting port and outlet counts, making connection planning less certain.
- At 12 kg, it is less convenient for long-distance carrying than compact units such as the Apowking 300W.
Best for: Campers and RV travelers who want a relatively high-capacity power station with a built-in panel for solar top-ups and power for several device types.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need fast solar replenishment from the included panel alone or need verified port and outlet counts before planning their setup.
- Battery capacity:1024Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4; rated for 3000+ cycles to 80% capacity
- Output:1600W continuous, 3200W peak
- Built-in solar panel:40W
- USB-C output:100W PD
- Charging options:AC, USB-C PD, car outlet, solar
- Weight:12 kg
- Dimensions:17.2 × 13.3 × 5.7 in
Our verdict“Choose the BROWEY if you want substantial capacity and built-in solar for occasional top-ups, but look elsewhere if quick solar charging or precise port details are priorities.”
Jackery Explorer 300 Portable Power Station with 40W Solar Panel
The Jackery Explorer 300 is the more packable choice for charging essentials: its 292Wh capacity and 300W rated output suit phones, lights, and smaller electronics, not high-draw appliances. The included 40W solar panel lets you recharge off-grid, though the stated time to reach 80%—about 7.5 hours—makes it a slow companion for consecutive heavy-use days. Compared with the Apowking 300W, the Jackery has a slightly larger stated battery and a 100W USB-C PD port, while the Apowking weighs less and includes a built-in floodlight. Its LiFePO4 battery is rated for over 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity, a long-cycle-life feature for frequent use. I would pick it for portable device charging, not as a substitute for the 1024Wh BROWEY.
Pros:- Included 40W solar panel supports off-grid recharging without a separate panel purchase.
- LiFePO4 battery is rated for over 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity.
- 100W USB-C PD, two USB-A ports, two AC outlets, and a car port cover common device connections.
- Integrated handle and 12.9 lb weight make it easier to carry than larger-capacity stations.
Cons:- The 292Wh battery is far smaller than the BROWEY 1600W’s 1024Wh capacity.
- The listed 40W panel takes about 7.5 hours to charge the unit to 80%, limiting rapid turnaround.
- 300W rated output rules out many higher-power appliances.
Best for: Campers, photographers, and day-trip travelers who want a manageable solar kit for phones, cameras, lights, and other modest loads.
Not ideal for: RV users or households seeking to run larger appliances or maintain power through a prolonged outage; its 292Wh capacity and 300W rated output are limited for those jobs.
- Battery capacity:292Wh
- Peak surge:600W
- Battery chemistry:LiFePO4; over 4,000 cycles to 70% capacity
- Included solar panel:40W
- USB-C port:100W PD
- Weight:12.9 lb
- Warranty:3+2 years
Our verdict“Pick the Explorer 300 for portable solar charging of small devices, but choose a higher-capacity model for appliances or extended backup.”
BLAVOR 1600W Solar Generator with 1024Wh Battery and Built-In 40W Solar Panel
BLAVOR combines a 1024Wh LiFePO4 battery and 1600W rated output with an onboard 40W panel, but its key distinction from the similar-capacity BROWEY is support for up to 200W solar input with a compatible external panel. That gives buyers a clearer route to faster solar replenishment, although the faster-charging panel is sold separately. The built-in panel remains useful for modest top-ups rather than rapid recovery. At 26 lb, BLAVOR is a sizeable piece of kit for a camping loadout; the Jackery Explorer 300 is much easier to carry, but offers far less capacity and output. A carrying case, cables, and adapter connectors come in the package, and the eight ports include 100W bidirectional USB-C. Check external-panel compatibility before building a solar setup.
Pros:- 1024Wh LiFePO4 battery and 1600W rated output provide far more capacity and power than the Jackery Explorer 300.
- Accepts up to 200W solar input with a compatible external panel, beyond the built-in panel’s 40W rating.
- 100W bidirectional USB-C and eight output ports support a range of devices.
- Includes a carrying case, cables, and adapter connectors.
Cons:- The external panel needed for faster solar charging is sold separately.
- The built-in 40W panel is limited for recharging a 1024Wh battery.
- At 26 lb, it is a heavy choice for trips that involve frequent carrying.
Best for: Campers and backup-power buyers who want a 1024Wh station and plan to add a compatible external panel for stronger solar input.
Not ideal for: Hikers and frequent solo movers who prioritize low carry weight, or buyers who expect the built-in 40W panel to recharge the battery quickly.
- Battery capacity:1024Wh
- Battery type:LiFePO4; rated for more than 4,000 charge cycles
- Peak output:3200W
- Built-in solar panel:40W
- Maximum solar input:200W with a compatible external panel
- USB-C output:100W bidirectional
- Weight:26 lb
Our verdict“Choose BLAVOR if you want high capacity with a path to stronger external solar input, and can accommodate its weight and separate-panel requirement.”
Apowking 300W Portable Power Station with 40W Solar Panel
At 5 lb, the Apowking is the easiest option here to carry for a short camping trip or keep close for basic outage lighting and device charging. Its 220Wh battery and 300W rated output are best matched to phones, small electronics, and modest loads; compared with the Jackery Explorer 300, it has less stated capacity, but adds a built-in LED floodlight and weighs substantially less. The included 40W monocrystalline panel provides an off-grid charging option, though the limited battery size and listed two-hour runtime make it a poor fit for long-duration power needs. Two AC outlets, USB-C, USB-A, and a DC carport broaden its usefulness, but the 300W rating is the boundary: larger appliances need a more powerful station such as the BROWEY.
Pros:- At 5 lb, it is substantially easier to carry than the Jackery Explorer 300 and the larger-capacity stations.
- Included 40W monocrystalline solar panel supports basic off-grid recharging.
- AC, USB-C, USB-A, and DC outputs accommodate a variety of small devices.
- Built-in approximately 300-lumen LED floodlight adds useful camp or emergency illumination.
Cons:- 220Wh capacity and 300W rated output limit both runtime and supported appliance size.
- The listed runtime is two hours, which is short for sustained power needs.
- The 12-month warranty is shorter than the Jackery Explorer 300’s listed 3+2-year warranty.
Best for: Minimalist campers, day hikers with modest electronics, and car-kit owners who value a light station with a built-in light.
Not ideal for: People who need to run high-wattage appliances or keep several devices powered through a long outage; its 220Wh capacity and 300W rated output are restrictive.
- Battery capacity:220Wh (60,000mAh)
- Peak output:600W
- Solar panel:40W monocrystalline
- AC outlets:2 × 110V pure sine wave
- Other ports:2 USB-C PD, 3 USB-A, 1 DC carport
- Weight:5 lb
- LED light:Approximately 300 lumens; up to 30+ hours
Our verdict“Choose the Apowking for lightweight device charging and emergency light, not for running appliances or covering extended outages.”
Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Portable Power Station with Two 200W Solar Panels
The HomePower 3600 Plus sits at the opposite end of the lineup from the portable, small-load Apowking: its 3584Wh capacity and 3600W output are aimed at substantial backup needs and higher-draw equipment. Two 200W solar panels are included, with a stated four-hour solar recharge time, while hybrid AC and DC charging can cut recharge time to two hours. Expandability and parallel operation add room for larger setups, including 240V operation in parallel. The tradeoff is mobility: wheels and a telescoping handle help move this 77.2 lb unit across level ground, but do not make it easy to lift or carry. It is also far more station than most weekend campers need, and the power station and panels may arrive in separate packages.
Pros:- 3584Wh capacity and 3600W output exceed the smaller BROWEY and Jackery Explorer 300 by a wide margin.
- Two 200W solar panels are included, with a stated four-hour solar recharge time.
- Hybrid AC and DC charging can recharge the station in a stated two hours.
- Expandable capacity, parallel output, wheels, and a telescoping handle support larger backup setups.
Cons:- At 77.2 lb, it is difficult to lift and carry despite its wheels and handle.
- The power station and solar panels may ship separately and arrive at different times.
- Its size and capacity are excessive for buyers who only need power for phones and small camping devices.
Best for: Homeowners, RV users, and extended-trip planners who need high output, substantial stored energy, and solar charging for demanding backup loads.
Not ideal for: Backpackers, casual campers, or buyers needing a lightweight unit they can lift easily; at 77.2 lb, this is a wheeled power station rather than a carry-friendly one.
- Battery capacity:3584Wh
- Battery type:LFP; rated for 6,000 cycles
- AC output:3600W
- Parallel output:7200W; 240V in parallel
- Solar panels:Two 200W panels
- Recharge time:2 hours hybrid AC+DC; 2.5 hours AC or gas generator; 4 hours solar
- Expandable capacity:Up to 21kWh per unit or 43kWh with multiple units
- Weight:77.2 lb
Our verdict“Choose the HomePower 3600 Plus for high-load, extended backup where capacity matters more than carry weight, and skip it for ordinary light-duty camping.”
EnginStar 296Wh Portable Power Station with Pure Sine Wave AC Outlets
The EnginStar makes sense for campers and travelers who want portable power in a 6.5-pound package, rather than enough capacity to run larger appliances. Its 296Wh battery, two pure sine wave AC outlets, and mix of DC and USB connections can support small electronics and compatible low-wattage devices. Unlike the BROWEY S1600, it is easy to carry but has far less stored energy and a 300W output ceiling. It can recharge from a wall outlet, car, or compatible solar panel, though the solar panel is sold separately, so solar charging requires an extra purchase. Wall charging takes about seven hours, making advance charging more practical than a quick turnaround. I’d choose it for light-duty portability, not appliance backup.
Pros:- Lightweight 6.5-pound design is easier to carry than higher-capacity options such as the BROWEY S1600
- Two pure sine wave AC outlets plus DC, USB, and USB-C outputs support a range of small devices
- Can recharge from a wall outlet, compatible solar panel, or car charger
- Includes protection against overload, overcharging, overheating, and short circuits
Cons:- Solar panel is sold separately, so it is not a complete solar kit
- 300W output and 296Wh capacity limit appliance choice and runtime
- Wall charging takes about seven hours
Best for: Campers, travelers, and drivers who need a lightweight source for phones, small electronics, and other compatible devices below 300W
Not ideal for: Buyers who want a ready-to-use solar kit, need to power devices above 300W, or want to run appliances for extended periods
- Battery capacity:296Wh
- Battery type:Lithium-ion
- AC output:2 × 110V pure sine wave outlets
- DC outputs:12V car port; 12V 8A and 24V 3A
- USB outputs:2 × 5V/3.1A USB; 18W USB-C
- Charging methods:Wall outlet, compatible solar panel (sold separately), or car charger
- Wall charging time:About 7 hours
- Weight and dimensions:6.5 lb; 9 × 5.5 × 7.5 in
- Battery cycle life:More than 1,000 charge cycles
Our verdict“Choose the EnginStar if low weight and basic device charging matter more than high output, long runtimes, or an included solar panel.”
BROWEY 1600W Portable Power Station with Built-In Solar Panel
The BROWEY S1600 is the more capable choice here for buyers who need 1,024Wh of storage and 1,600W of pure sine wave output. Its LiFePO4 battery is rated for more than 3,000 cycles to 80% capacity, giving it a longer-cycle-life profile than the lithium-ion EnginStar 296Wh. The built-in 40W solar panel offers a way to collect solar energy without setting up a separate panel, but its modest rating means it is better treated as supplemental charging than a fast recharge source. Eight ports, including 100W USB-C PD, add flexibility for mixed devices. At 26 pounds, it is still portable, but it is a much heavier carry than the EnginStar; buyers prioritizing frequent transport should weigh that against the extra capacity.
Pros:- 1,024Wh capacity and 1,600W output support substantially more demanding devices than the EnginStar 296Wh
- LiFePO4 battery is rated for 3,000+ cycles to 80% capacity
- Built-in 40W solar panel with MPPT controller allows solar input without a separate panel setup
- Eight ports include 100W USB-C PD and pure sine wave AC output
Cons:- At 26 pounds, it is much less convenient to carry than compact options such as the EnginStar
- The built-in solar panel is rated at only 40W, limiting its usefulness for rapid recharging
- Its larger capacity and output may be unnecessary for buyers who only need to charge small electronics
Best for: Campers, van travelers, and outage-conscious households who want substantial battery capacity, a long-cycle-life battery, and an integrated solar charging option
Not ideal for: Backpackers or frequent travelers who need a light pack, and buyers expecting the built-in 40W panel to recharge the large battery quickly
- Model:S1600
- Battery capacity and type:1,024Wh LiFePO4
- AC output:1,600W, 3,200W peak; 120V pure sine wave
- Built-in solar panel:40W with MPPT controller
- Ports:8
- USB-C PD output:100W
- AC charging time:80% in 3 hours using AC adapter and 100W USB-C PD simultaneously
- Battery life:3,000+ cycles to 80% capacity
- Weight and dimensions:26 lb; 13.3 × 17.1 × 5.5 in
Our verdict“Pick the BROWEY S1600 for higher-output, longer-cycle-life power with integrated solar, provided its 26-pound weight and slow built-in panel fit your plans.”

How We Picked
I compared each portable solar generator by the job it is suited to: powering small electronics on a trip, supporting a campsite, or supplying selected household loads during an outage. The main criteria were stated battery capacity and AC output, the included solar panel’s wattage and setup, carrying practicality, charging flexibility, and how well the package’s components appear to match one another. I gave more weight to useful capacity and a coherent solar kit than to headline output alone, since a powerful inverter cannot make up for a small battery or slow recharging.
The ranking puts the Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 first for its middle-ground role, then separates larger backup systems from lighter, lower-capacity kits. The Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 and HomePower 3600 Plus rank highly for buyers who need more reserve, but their size and setup demands make them less universal. Compact options rank lower for versatility, not because they lack a purpose: they are better choices when portability and modest loads matter more than extended runtime. The two BROWEY listings are the same named configuration, so I treat them as one distinct option rather than implying a product difference.
| portable solar generator | Battery type |
|---|---|
| ZeroKor 300W Portable Power St | — |
| Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v | LFP |
| Apowking 100W Portable Power S | — |
| Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 with | LiFePO4 |
| EnginStar 300W Portable Power | — |
| BROWEY 1600W Portable Power St | LiFePO4; rated for 3000+ cycles to 80% capacity |
| Jackery Explorer 300 Portable | — |
| BLAVOR 1600W Solar Generator w | LiFePO4; rated for more than 4,000 charge cycles |
| Apowking 300W Portable Power S | — |
| Jackery HomePower 3600 Plus Po | LFP; rated for 6,000 cycles |
| EnginStar 296Wh Portable Power | Lithium-ion |
| BROWEY 1600W Portable Power St | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Portable Solar Generators
Before choosing a portable solar generator, I would work backward from the devices you plan to power and the time you need them running. Product names and wattage labels can obscure the practical limits: battery capacity governs runtime, inverter output governs which devices can run, and panel capacity affects how quickly the battery can recover. These broader checks can prevent paying for a system that is either too small for an outage or unnecessarily cumbersome for a weekend trip.
Start With Energy Use, Not the Generator’s Biggest Number
List the devices you expect to run, their wattage, and roughly how many hours each will operate. Multiply watts by hours to estimate energy use in watt-hours, then allow extra room because inverter conversion and operating conditions reduce the energy available to devices. A high AC output rating tells you what the unit may run at once; it does not tell you how long it will run it. Buyers often focus on whether a refrigerator can start and overlook the daily energy needed to keep it running. If the load is essential, choose capacity with a buffer rather than relying on an idealized runtime claim.
Match Continuous and Surge Output to Your Appliances
Some appliances draw more power at startup than they do during normal operation, so check both continuous output and surge capability against the appliance’s specifications. Motors in refrigerators, pumps, and some tools can expose a mismatch that phones and laptops never reveal. Pure sine wave AC is a useful feature for compatibility with sensitive electronics, but it does not increase battery capacity or solve an output shortfall. Avoid adding every appliance’s rated wattage together unless they will actually operate at the same time. A smaller generator can be a sensible choice when you schedule loads rather than running everything simultaneously.
Treat Solar Charging as a System, Not a Panel Label
Panel wattage is a peak rating, not a promise of constant charging power. Sun angle, shade, cloud cover, temperature, and panel placement all affect the energy collected over a day. Check the generator’s solar input limits and connector compatibility before buying additional panels, since a larger array cannot help if the unit cannot accept its output. Bundled panels make setup easier, but a small panel may be best viewed as a gradual recharge option rather than a way to refill a large battery quickly. For outage planning, consider how many clear-sun hours you can realistically access and whether you can reposition panels during the day.
Choose Portability for the Whole Kit
A power station may be manageable by itself while the panels, cables, and carrying case make the complete setup awkward to move. Think about where you will store it, how far you will carry it, and whether you need to deploy it alone. Built-in panels reduce loose gear and setup steps, but they limit panel size and may require placing the generator in sunlight, which can be inconvenient when devices need to stay shaded or protected. A separate foldable panel gives more placement freedom but adds packing bulk. For frequent car camping, convenience may matter more than the smallest possible folded footprint.
Plan Around Recharging Between Uses
Consider how the battery will be replenished when sunlight is poor or time is limited. Many systems support more than one charging method, but charging speed and compatibility vary, so verify the available input options for the exact model. If you expect several days of cloudy weather, solar alone may not provide the recovery you need. A generator that can recharge from an outlet before a trip can preserve the solar panels for field use. Also check whether the manufacturer specifies battery cycle life, storage guidance, and service support; a portable power station is a battery appliance that benefits from sensible long-term care.
Pay for Capacity You Can Use, Not Capacity You Might Need
Extra capacity is valuable for long outages and high daily consumption, but it also tends to add weight, space demands, and more involved handling. A compact unit can be the better purchase if its role is charging phones, lights, cameras, or a laptop during short trips. Conversely, choosing a small kit for household backup can lead to frequent load juggling and inadequate runtime. Separate essential loads from nice-to-have devices, then size the system around the essentials. Spend more when additional capacity, output, or recharge flexibility solves a real use case—not just because a larger figure looks reassuring.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I know whether a portable solar generator can run my refrigerator?
Check the refrigerator’s running wattage and startup surge, then compare both with the generator’s continuous and surge AC output. Estimate daily energy use in watt-hours as well, because a unit may start the refrigerator successfully but lack enough stored energy to keep it running for the time you need. Refrigerator cycling, ambient temperature, and door openings can change actual consumption. If the manufacturer provides an energy-use figure, use it as a better starting point than multiplying the compressor’s running wattage by 24 hours. For outage use, leave capacity for other essential devices and for losses from AC conversion.
Can the included solar panel recharge the generator in a single day?
It depends on battery size, panel wattage, available sunlight, and the generator’s solar input limit. A panel’s rated output is a peak figure, so real-world charging commonly falls below that level as light and panel angle change. Large batteries paired with modest panels may need more than one sunny day to recharge, especially if the generator is powering devices at the same time. Check the maker’s stated solar charging time and the conditions behind it, then treat that estimate as a best-case reference rather than a guarantee. Buyers who need faster recovery should check whether extra compatible panels are supported.
Is a built-in solar panel better than a separate foldable panel?
A built-in panel can simplify transport and reduce setup because the generator and solar surface travel together. Its tradeoff is limited panel area, which can mean slower charging than a larger separate panel. A foldable panel offers more flexibility: you can place the power station in shade and position the panel in direct sunlight, though you must carry and connect another piece of gear. For occasional phone charging or light use, integrated solar may be convenient. For regular off-grid use or larger batteries, a separate panel setup is often easier to scale.
Should I choose a compact generator or a larger backup unit for both camping and home outages?
Start with the heaviest load and longest runtime you expect during an outage, then ask whether you can comfortably transport the larger unit on trips. A compact station is easier to carry and well suited to personal electronics, but its limited stored energy may force strict load management at home. A large backup system can power more devices for longer, though its size may make it inconvenient for frequent camping. If your needs differ sharply, choosing one generator to serve both can mean accepting a compromise. Prioritize the use that matters most, or plan separate compact and backup systems when both roles are regular.
What should I check before buying extra solar panels for a power station?
Verify the station’s maximum solar input, supported voltage and current range, connector type, and whether panels can be connected in series or parallel. Exceeding an input limit may prevent the setup from working as intended, even if the added panels have a high combined wattage. Also check whether the panel’s connector requires an adapter and whether that adapter is included. More panel capacity helps only when sunlight is available and the power station can accept the incoming power. Match additional panels to the generator’s specifications rather than choosing by panel wattage alone.
Conclusion
For the broadest mix of camping and backup use, I recommend the Jackery Solar Generator 1000 v2 as best overall. Buyers seeking a more accessible, modest-load setup can look to the Jackery Explorer 300 or the compact Apowking and EnginStar kits, while the smaller Apowking 100W is the clearest fit for light electronics and beginners who value a simple role. For bigger energy reserves, the Jackery Explorer 2000 v2 is my premium pick for higher-demand portable backup, and the HomePower 3600 Plus suits buyers prioritizing substantial home backup capacity over easy carrying. The BLAVOR and BROWEY models are specific-use choices for shoppers drawn to integrated solar convenience; choose them only after checking whether their panel setup and output fit your charging and runtime needs. If your plan centers on basic devices, keep the kit small; if it includes appliances or multi-day outages, prioritize battery capacity, output limits, and a realistic solar recharge plan.
Halloween Picks
halloween
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.














