TL;DR
Get backup power and energy gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Ford says its Fathom electric pickup will use an onboard inverter to send power from its battery to a home through less expensive AC bidirectional charging equipment. Ford estimates the compatible charger will cost about half as much as its $1,300 Charge Station Pro, while the charger-and-backup-panel combination will cost 60% less than its current $5,200 setup, before installation.
Ford’s Fathom electric pickup will be able to send power from its battery to a home using an onboard inverter and lower-cost AC bidirectional charging equipment, the company told Canary Media. Ford says the home-power setup will cost substantially less than its existing F-150 Lightning system, potentially lowering one barrier to using an EV as backup during outages; the precise price and availability have not been announced.
Unlike many current electric vehicles, which need an external device to convert battery power from direct current (DC) to the alternating current (AC) used in homes, the Fathom will have that conversion capability built into the vehicle. Ford says the arrangement means owners will not need to buy the costly bidirectional charger used by some existing vehicle-to-home systems. The truck is described in the source report as starting at under $30,000.
Ford said its compatible AC bidirectional charger will cost roughly half the $1,300 price of its Charge Station Pro, developed for the F-150 Lightning. For backup during a grid outage, customers also need a home backup power panel. Ford estimates that the charger and panel together will cost 60% less than its current $5,200 combination of Charge Station Pro and home integration system. Those figures exclude installation, and Ford has not supplied a final price for the Fathom equipment.
The technology is based on Ford’s Universal EV Platform, being developed at its retooled Louisville, Kentucky, factory. Ford said other vehicles built on that platform will also have AC bidirectional charging. The system uses communications technology certified under SAE J3068, a standard intended to support safe coordination between the vehicle and home equipment.
Lowering the Cost of Home Backup
The announcement addresses a major practical obstacle to using an EV as a household backup power source: the cost of equipment outside the vehicle. Existing bidirectional systems can add thousands of dollars before installation, making home backup less attractive even to drivers who already own an EV. Ford’s projected reduction could make the option more accessible, though the final purchase and installation costs will determine the actual savings for customers.
Vehicle-to-home systems can also let owners use stored vehicle energy when the grid is unavailable. Ford says its equipment can manage household power while the grid is operating, too. The announcement does not establish how long the Fathom could power a particular home; that would depend on factors such as battery capacity, household demand and the backup system’s configuration.
The move could influence other automakers considering bidirectional power. Ford’s system differs from setups that rely on external DC-to-AC conversion, and the source report says competing offerings can be more expensive. However, lower hardware costs alone may not bring widespread adoption: utility interconnection rules remain inconsistent across much of the United States.
Products Worth Considering

Bose S1 Pro+ Portable PA Speaker

Philips Hue Bridge Pro Smart Lighting Hub

Blueair Blue Pure 511i Max Air Purifier for Home and Bedroom
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Ford’s AC System Differs
Most EV batteries store energy as direct current, while household circuits use alternating current. A vehicle-to-home setup must convert and manage that power, coordinate communications between the vehicle and home equipment, and meet safety requirements. Many existing arrangements put much of the conversion equipment outside the vehicle, adding cost and installation needs.
Ford developed the Fathom’s onboard inverter capability with engineers at Auto Motive Power, a startup it acquired in 2023. Jiaqi Liang, a former AMP hardware executive who now works on Ford’s Advanced Programs team, told Canary Media that the Universal EV Platform allowed the company to design charging and discharging systems together rather than retrofit the capability onto a legacy vehicle platform.
The report cites a $6,748 sale price for General Motors’ DC vehicle-to-home bundle as one comparison. Costs and included components vary by product, and the figures cited are not a complete comparison of installed systems. Ford’s estimates also exclude installation.
“This is not going to be Ford’s last EV that is bidirectional capable.”
— Dave McCreadie, Ford’s director of grid and energy services
Prices, Rules and Availability
Ford has not finalized the equipment price or disclosed the Fathom’s launch date, order timing or the cost of installation. The stated 60% saving is a comparison with Ford’s $5,200 Charge Station Pro and home integration system combination, not a confirmed total price for a customer’s completed installation. The report does not specify the exact backup panel price or all equipment that will be required in different homes.
Access also depends on utility rules. The source report says California and Maryland have established utility regulations for AC bidirectional charging outside pilot projects, while rules elsewhere are fragmented. Ford said it is working with utilities and regulators, but it has not announced a nationwide approval framework or confirmed which customers will be able to connect the system at launch.
Ford and its sources describe the system as designed for safe home power delivery, including use of the SAE J3068 communications standard. The report does not provide independent test results or detailed performance specifications, such as supported household loads or backup duration. Those details remain open.
Utility Work and Final Pricing
Ford said it is working with American Electric Power, BC Hydro, Consumers Energy, Exelon and Pacific Gas & Electric on common standards for integrating its AC vehicle-to-home system into utility interconnection rules. The company said this effort has been underway since July; the report does not identify a date for final standards or a wider rollout.
Customers will need more information from Ford before they can judge the full cost and practicality of the system, including final equipment prices, installation requirements, vehicle timing and state-by-state utility eligibility. Ford’s estimates point to a lower-cost design, but the actual savings will depend on the finalized package and the rules where an owner lives.
Key Questions
How will the Ford Fathom power a home?
The Fathom will have an onboard inverter to convert battery power into AC power for compatible home equipment. A separate home backup power panel is needed to supply a home during a grid outage.
How much will Ford’s home backup equipment cost?
Ford has not finalized the price. It says the compatible bidirectional charger will cost roughly half of the $1,300 Charge Station Pro, and that the charger-and-panel combination will cost 60% less than its current $5,200 setup. Installation is excluded.
Will the Fathom work during a power outage?
Ford says owners will be able to use the system for home backup during outages, with a compatible backup panel. The report does not state how long the vehicle can power a home or which household loads it can support.
Can owners use the system anywhere in the United States?
That is not yet clear. Utility interconnection rules vary, and Ford says it is working with utilities and regulators on common standards. Local utility requirements may affect whether and how a system can be connected.
Will other Ford EVs get the same capability?
Ford’s director of grid and energy services said other vehicles based on the Universal EV Platform will also have AC bidirectional charging. Ford has not named every planned model or provided individual launch dates.
Source: canarymedia.com
